Performance Data
Environment
| Indicator | Unit | Target | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Production | |||||
| Production | MT | 879,040 | 905,365 | 878,396 | |
| GHG emissions | |||||
| Scope 1 | mn MT CO2e | 2.1 | 2.2 | 2.2 | |
| Scope 1 Intensity | MT CO2e / MT Production | 2.39 | 2.45 | 2.47 | |
| Normalized Scope 1 Intensity1 | MT CO2e / MT Production | 2.28 | 2.28 | 2.36 | |
| Normalized Scope 1 Intensity reduction2 | % | −8 | −7 | −7 | −4 |
| Scope 2 – Market-based34 | k MT CO2e | 0 | 128 | 132 | 152 |
| Scope 2 – Location-based | k MT CO2e | 147 | 127 | 123 | |
| Scope 2 Intensity | MT CO2e / MT Production | 0.15 | 0.14 | 0.17 | |
| Scope 3 by category | |||||
| Scope 3 | mn MT CO2e | 1.3 | 1.4 | 1.3 | |
| 1. Purchased goods and services | MT CO2e | 964,678 | 1,010,940 | 989,583 | |
| 2. Capital goods | MT CO2e | 30,709 | 31,545 | 30,698 | |
| 3. Fuel- and energy-related activities (not included in Scope 1 or Scope 2) | MT CO2e | 41,495 | 33,795 | 28,101 | |
| 4. Upstream transportation and distribution | MT CO2e | 101,314 | 104,372 | 101,859 | |
| 5. Waste generated in operations | MT CO2e | 11,123 | 11,051 | 11,078 | |
| 6. Business travel | MT CO2e | 3,498 | 3,870 | 4,110 | |
| 7. Employee commuting | MT CO2e | 1,685 | 1,709 | 1,773 | |
| Total upstream Scope 3 emissions | MT CO2e | 1,154,501 | 1,197,282 | 1,167,202 | |
| 12. End-of-life treatment of sold products | MT CO2e | 5,513 | 5,829 | 5,261 | |
| 15. Investments | MT CO2e | 165,996 | 164,943 | 167,851 | |
| Total downstream Scope 3 emissions | MT CO2e | 171,509 | 170,772 | 173,112 | |
| SO2 | |||||
| Emissions | k MT SO2 | 6.8 | 6.9 | 6.8 | |
| Intensity | kg SO2 / MT Production | 7.83 | 7.58 | 7.68 | |
| Intensity reduction5 | % | −50 | −59 | −60 | −60 |
| NOx | |||||
| Emissions | k MT NOx | 3.18 | 3.4 | 3.2 | |
| Intensity | kg NOx / MT Production | 3.63 | 3.71 | 3.65 | |
| Intensity reduction5 | % | −25 | −31 | −30 | −31 |
| Particulate matter | |||||
| Emissions6 | k MT PM | 0.29 | 0.3 | 0.37 | |
| Intensity6 | kg PM / MT Production | 0.33 | 0.34 | 0.42 | |
| Intensity reduction56 | % | −15 | −48 | −47 | −37 |
| Energy | |||||
| Energy consumption7 | TWh | 19.5 | 20.3 | 20 | |
| Intensity8 | Total energy / total useful energy | 1.99 | 2.09 | 2.13 | |
| Tail gas utilization rate9 | % | 83 | 84 | 84 | |
| Renewable electricity10 | % | 17 | 8.6 | Not reported | |
| Water inflow | |||||
| Inflow | million m³ | 12.1 | 12.9 | 13.6 | |
| Surface water | % | 55 | 57 | 27 | |
| Well water | % | 12 | 14 | 22 | |
| Municipality | % | 26 | 27 | 48 | |
| Retention pond | % | 7 | 2 | 3 | |
| Water outflow | |||||
| Outflow | million m³ | 5.3 | 5.2 | 4.5 | |
| Sanitary sewer | % | 1 | 1 | 1 | |
| Municipality | % | 26 | 26 | 30 | |
| Natural body of water / collection pond | % | 73 | 73 | 69 | |
| Water intensity | |||||
| Water intensity11 | m³ / MT Production | 7.7 | 8.5 | 10.4 | |
| Waste intensity | |||||
| Waste intensity | kg / MT Production | 26.4 | 25.4 | 28.6 | |
| Waste generation | |||||
| Total waste generation | k MT | 23.2 | 23 | 25.1 | |
| General & non-hazardous waste | k MT | 21.9 | 19.6 | 22.7 | |
| Hazardous waste | k MT | 1.3 | 3.4 | 2.4 | |
| Waste disposal method: general and non-hazardous waste | |||||
| Landfilled | k MT | 14.1 | 13.5 | 16 | |
| Recycled, reused & recovered | k MT | 7.4 | 5.7 | 6.5 | |
| Incinerated | k MT | 0.4 | 0.4 | 0.3 | |
| Waste disposal method: hazardous waste | |||||
| Landfilled | k MT | 0.5 | 1.8 | 1.3 | |
| Recycled, reused & recovered | k MT | 0.2 | 0.7 | 0.3 | |
| Incinerated | k MT | 0.6 | 0.9 | 0.8 | |
| Packaging | |||||
| Use of plastic pallets made of recycled material12 | % | 100 | 100 | 100 | 100 |
| Use of reusable pallets at all sites13 | % | 90 | 100 | 95 | 95 |
| Paper bags from recycled paper14 | % | 95 | 17 | 6 | 2 |
| Use of reusable FIBCs or recycled FIBC15 | % | 100 | 26 | 24 | 14 |
| Significant spills | |||||
| Number of incidents16 | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| ISO 14001 Certification | |||||
| Percentage of sites certified ISO 1400117 | % | 100 | 100 | Not reported | Not reported |
Notes
- Normalized for product mix and feedstock mix in furnace black production.
- Baseline year of 2014.
- Baseline year of 2022.
- Target set for delivery by 2030.
- Baseline year of 2019.
- PM emissions based on the local authorities’ requirements, which can differ across the different legislations.
- Energy consumption includes fuel oil, make oil, and other energy (e.g., electric power) consumed at the operating sites under our management control and ownership.
- Total energy consumed in TWhs divided by total useful energy in TWhs (including carbon black and energy produced).
- Tail gas usage in the production of energy for internal or third-party consumption.
- 2024 is the first year this figure was publicly stated.
- Calculated as net water usage (inflow less outflow) per million metric tonnes of carbon black produced.
- Applies to sites using plastic pallets. Minimum recycled material content set at 60%.
- Applies to pallets used in outbound logistics as we have no control over inbound pallets. Target has been increased from 75% to 90%.
- Minimum recycled paper content set at 50%.
- Given the separate target for paper bags, this target has been reset for FIBCs. Reusability has been set at six, and minimum recycling content at 20%.
- Significant spill is defined as a reportable release of a substance that is large enough to be included in our financial statements and is recorded as such in our EHS registry.
- With annual surveillance audits completed. First year this figure is publicly disclosed.
Many of the people metrics reported are recent introductions, with public disclosure commencing in 2025.
| Indicator | Unit | Target | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Employees by gender | |||||
| Total18 | number | 1,639 | 1,658 | 1,652 | |
| Male18 | % | 83 | 81 | 81 | |
| Female18 | % | 17 | 19 | 19 | |
| Females in management roles18 | % | 22 | 21 | 21 | |
| Employees by contract | |||||
| Permanent19 | number | 1,631 | 1,646 | 1,634 | |
| Female permanent employees | number | 316 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Male permanent employees | number | 1,311 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Undisclosed/undefined permanent employees20 | number | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Temporary19 | number | 8 | 12 | 18 | |
| Female temporary employees | number | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Male temporary employees | number | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Non-guaranteed hours | number | 821 | 269 | Not reported | |
| Female non-guaranteed hours employees | number | 93 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Male non-guaranteed hours employees | number | 726 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Undisclosed/undefined non-guaranteed hours employees20 | number | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Full-time | number | 1,582 | 1,604 | 1,606 | |
| Female full-time employees | number | 279 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Male full-time employees | number | 1,300 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Undisclosed/undefined full-time employees20 | number | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Part-time19 | number | 57 | 54 | 46 | |
| Female part-time employees | number | 41 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Male part-time employees | number | 15 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Undisclosed/undefined part-time employees20 | number | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Employees by region | |||||
| Americas | number | 417 | 417 | 418 | |
| APAC | number | 365 | 374 | 383 | |
| EMEA | number | 857 | 867 | 851 | |
| Employee by age group | |||||
| <30 | number | 171 | 181 | 186 | |
| 30–50 | number | 835 | 783 | 757 | |
| >50 | number | 633 | 694 | 709 | |
| Employees in bargaining unit | |||||
| Number of employees21 | number | 814 | 809 | 808 | |
| As a percentage of total21 | % | 50 | 49 | 49 | |
| Voluntary turnover | |||||
| Voluntary turnover rate | % | 4 | 3 | 3 | |
| Total voluntary departures | number | 67 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary turnover by gender | |||||
| Voluntary departures male employees | number | 56 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary departures female employees | number | 11 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary turnover by region | |||||
| Voluntary departures Americas | number | 37 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary departures APAC | number | 8 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary departures EMEA | number | 22 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary turnover by age | |||||
| Voluntary departures <30 years of age | number | 23 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary departures >50 years of age | number | 13 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Voluntary departures 30–50 years of age | number | 31 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| New hires | |||||
| New hires | number | 163 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| New hires female employees | number | 26 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| New hires male employees | number | 137 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Employees receiving performance review | |||||
| As a percentage of total | % | 72 | 72 | 68 | |
| As a percentage of employees eligible employment contract22 | % | 95 | 97 | 97 | 94 |
| Workforce receiving training | |||||
| As percentage of total23 | % | 100 | 100 | 100 | 100 |
| Average training hours | |||||
| Average training hours23 | hrs | 40 | 40 | 66 | 69 |
| Average hours of training per year female employees | hrs | 31.5 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Average hours of training per year male employees | hrs | 41.6 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Non-discrimination | |||||
| Claims alleged | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Substantiated | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Unsubstantiated | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Claims closed | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Corrective Actions taken24 | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Operational safety | |||||
| DAFW | number per 200,000 worked hours | 0.06 | 0.29 | 0.23 | |
| TRIR | number per 200,000 worked hours | 0.18 | 0.35 | 0.34 | |
| PSE25 | number | 17 | 24 | 19 | |
| Lost time injuries26 | number | 1 | 5 | Not reported | |
| OSHA recordable injuries26 | number | 3 | 6 | Not reported | |
| Employee fatalities | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Contractor fatalities | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Product quality, safety and stewardship | |||||
| Percentage of Safety Data Sheets provided to customers27 | % | 100 | 100 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Community impact | |||||
| Distribution of charitable giving | |||||
| Community support | % | 79 | 75 | 67 | |
| First/emergency responders | % | 4 | 4 | 20 | |
| Charitable organizations | % | 14 | 21 | 11 | |
| Others | % | 3 | Not reported | 2 | |
| Percentage of budgeted adjusted EBITDA dedicated to charitable giving27 | % | 0.2 | 0.2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Percentage of sites engaged in charitable giving27 | % | 100 | 86.7 | Not reported | Not reported |
Notes
- Gender dispersion – Orion operates in the Chemical manufacturing industry which is predominantly a male workforce, and our gender dispersion is consistent with the industry. Approximately 2/3 of our workforce are in blue-collar roles.
- Part-time/temporary employees – Approximately 2/3 of our workforce are in blue-collar roles and the nature of this work in the chemical industry lends itself to regular full-time roles so that employees are professionally trained. Our unions and works counsels generally prefer for employees to have the security of regular full-time employment.
- In several countries, gender disclosure is voluntary.
- Collective bargaining – Orion recognizes and respects our employees’ right to be represented under a collective bargaining agreement; however, we strive to provide a safe working environment and competitive wages and benefits for all employees regardless of representation.
- Employees are defined to include only those whose contracts (including collective bargaining agreements) do not restrict the Company from conducting individual performance reviews.
- This is a yearly target.
- Options include no action, policy review, training, discipline, and termination.
- Following CCPS guidelines, a process safety event is defined as an event involving the release or loss of containment of hazardous materials that can result in large-scale health and environmental consequences. While we have been collecting and reviewing the underlying data, we started categorizing the relevant data under this classification in 2020.
- 2024 is the first year this figure was publicly stated.
- 2025 is the first year this figure is publicly stated.
Governance
| Indicator | Unit | Target | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance incidents | |||||
| Number of environmental non-compliance incidents28 | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Number of substantiated, material non-compliance incidents (excluding environmental non-compliance incidents)27 | number | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Compliance training | |||||
| Employees receiving compliance training2930 | % | 95 | 100 | 100 | 100 |
| Cybersecurity | |||||
| Number of material data breaches annually based on Orion’s cybersecurity scorecard27 | number | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Annual average participation rate in Orion’s cybersecurity awareness training program27 | % | 90 | 95 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sustainable procurement | |||||
| Suppliers signing up to the Supplier Code of Conduct31 | % | 100 | 99 | 98 | 99 |
| Share of spend from targeted suppliers having our CSR assessments or other recognized third-party assessments (EcoVadis, etc.) | % | 60 | 46 | 53 | 25 |
| Targeted supplier contracts (by value) including clauses on environmental, labor and human rights requirements | % | 95 | 96 | 95 | |
| Procurement team receiving training on sustainability purchasing risk identification and management32 | % | 75 | 76 | 90 | Not reported |
Notes
- 2025 is the first year this figure is publicly stated.
- An environmental non-compliance level A incident as described in Orion’s management system: an incident causing community evacuation, shelter in place and significant property damage.
- This was formerly called “Code of Conduct Training”. However, the Code of Conduct is only one of several elements of our comprehensive compliance training.
- Yearly target.
- Measured in terms of value. Excludes suppliers with whom we transact on an ad hoc basis without a formal contract for a monetary value of less than $10,000 per annum.
- At least 75% annually.






